Commissioning & Passing Out Parade at SLAF Academy China Bay

His Excellency the President, minister of Defence and Commander in Chief of the Armed forces of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka Maithripala Sirisena urged those starting their careers in the Sri Lanka Air Force to give their best to the nation and assured them that he and the state would do their part to empower them, when he addressed the Commissioning and Passing Out Parade at the Sri Lanka Air Force Academy today (13 January 2017).
He was the Chief Guest when 40 Officers from the No 56th Intake of Officer Cadets and No 08th Lady Officer Cadets Intake along with 621 Airmen and Airwomen of the 162nd   Regular Airmen Recruit Course and No 32nd Regular Airwomen Recruit Course passed out from the SLAF Academy China Bay during the morning hours of 13 January 2017. Also on this occasion 04 Pilot Officers of No.84 flight cadet course received their Flying Brevets from the His Excellency the President Maithripala Sirisena. The Secretary to the Ministry of Defence Eng. Karunasena Hettiarachchi, Commander of the Air Force Air Marshal Kapila Jayampathy, the Board of Management of the SLAF, Commandant of the SLAF Academy China Bay Air Vice Marshal PDKT Jayasinghe and senior officers of the SL Army, SL Navy, and SL Police of Trincomalee District also attended the event. The Commander of the Air Force Air Marshal Kapila Jayampathy received the Chief Guest on arrival.

The Officer Cadets/Lady Officer Cadets have successfully completed 3 years of rigorous training while the Airmen/Airwomen followed a 20 week Basic Combat Training programme. The Parade, which was commanded by the Commanding Officer of Ground Training Wing, Group Captain HTH Dharmadasa, was followed by an Aerobatic display of PT6 Aircraft, flown by Qualified Flying Instructors (QFIs) of No.1 Flying Training Wing, Commanded by Wing CommanderTWKDC Dias. This was followed by a Band display, Drill display by SLAF Colour Wing, Unarmed Combat display, Parachute display, and a Camp Attack Display.

The award winners,

No. 56th Intake Officer Cadets’ and 08th Lady Officer Cadets'  course

The Winner of Sword of Honour  
Pilot Officer AC Jayasinghe

Best Officer Cadet of no 55th  Officer Cadets Intake
Pilot Officer AC Jayasinghe

Best Lady Officer Cadet of no 7th Lady Officer Cadets intake
Pilot Officer HS Liyanage

Best Office Cadet of General Duties of Pilot branch  
Pilot Officer AC Jayasinghe

Best Officer Cadet In Operations Air branch   
Pilot Officer EMMS Ekanayake

Best Officer Cadet of Tech Eng branch
Pilot Officer KKL Ranganath

Best Officer Cadet of Administrative branch  
Pilot Officer GT Jayasinghe

Best Officer Cadet of Administrative Regiment branch
Pilot Officer HTT Imantha

Best Office Cadet of Logistic branch
Pilot Officer HS Liyanage

No.162nd Regular  Airmen Recruit Course

Best Student / Best All Round Recruit
TA/33405 AC2UT  Kaleratne HL

Best in Drill
TA/33522  AC2UT Chanaka Kumara GGA

Best Shot
TA/33505 AC2UT- Fernando NRM

Best in Physical Efficiency
TA/33634 AC2UT  Nawarathne RHMC

Best Marathon
TA/33697 AC2UT – Wijesinghe EGGC

No.32nd Regular  Airwomen Recruit Course

Best All Round Recruit
TAW/2428 AC2UT Chamodani  SYN

Best Student
TAW/2428 AC2UT De Silva KWNN

Best in Physical Efficiency
TAW/2408 AC2UT – Liyanarachchi LDII

Best in Drill
TAW/2347 AC2UT – Madumalka HRN

Best Shot
TAW/2428 AC2UT Chamodani  SYN

Best Marathon
TAW/2355  AC2UT – Lakmini HKND



Air Commodore HSS Thuyacontha

WWV,RWP & Bar RSP, USP, psc