Sri Lanka Air Force's LAC Thushani Perera Adjudged Winner at Ranaviru Real Star Mission III – Grand Finale

Published on: 11:27pm on Sunday 28th July 2013
Sri Lanka Air Force's LAC Thushani Perera Adjudged Winner at Ranaviru Real Star Mission III – Grand Finale
The Grand Finale of the Ranaviru Real Star Competition concluded last night at the Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium with Leading Aircraftwoman Thushani Perera of the Sri Lanka Air Force winning the competition.  "Ranaviru Real Star" is a brain child of Secretary Defence and Urban Development Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa which aims at bringing out the hidden talents of war heroes of the three forces.

The Chief Guest on the occasion was His Excellency Mahinda Rajapakse, the president of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and the Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces, who attended this glamorous event along with the First Lady Madam Shiranthi Rajapakse.

The opening sequence of the Grande Finale showcased an ANGAMPORA display by members of the tri services under the guidance and training of the Chief of Korathota Angam Ranapila Ajantha Mahanthaarachchi. who has been training the SLAF's Angampora team for the past year. At centre stage was the Air Force Angampora team in grey comprising mostly of personnel from the Regimental Special Forces. The Army contingent was in black whilst the Naval contingent was in white.

The competition was judged by a panel which comprised eminent personalities in the music and film industry of Sri Lanka. Among them popular actor and film director  Jackson Anthony, renowned artiste Visharada Edward Jayakody and renowned actress  Yashoda Wimaladharma were the notable personalities. They had a direct say in sixty percent of the final outcome, whilst the rest of the outcome was decided by the public vote via SMS.

The competition was a keen one with three soldiers of the Army, one from the Navy and one from the Air Force showcasing their talents in two rounds of singing vying for the championship. The contest was a closely fought one with the SLAF's Lac Thushani Perera being adjudged the winner at the end.

The winner was presented the keys to a brand new luxury house valued at Rs. 20 million by First Lady Madam Shiranthi Rajapaksa. The second place secured by Lance Corporal Nadeesh Saranga of the Sri Lanka Army and was presented with the key to a brand new Toyota "Yarish” car worth 6.7 million Rupees and a cash prize of 1 million Rupees along with a trophy. The third place went to Lance Corporal Chaminda Kumara Rajapaksha of the Sri Lanka Army who was awarded a cash price of two million Rupees together with a trophy. The fourth and fifth places were secured by Corporal Manoj Prasanna of the Sri Lanka Army and Able Musician Danuka Ranasinghe of Sri Lanka Navy who walked away with Rs 550,000, Rs 500,000 and a 32 inch LED TV with a DTV (Dialog Television) connection along with a trophy respectively.

In addition, a special cash price of one million Rupees was awarded to Major Saliya Jayawardene who was disabled in Action during the past humanitarian Operations and secured the twelfth place in the competition. Winners from sixth to eleventh places received cash prizes of Rs.450,000, Rs 400,000, Rs 350,000, Rs 300,000, Rs 250,000, Rs 200,000 respectively with a LED TV and a DTV (Dialog Television) connection and a trophy. Winners from thirteenth to thirty-sixth places received cash prize of Rs 25000 each with a Dialog Phone along with a trophy. 

The Commander of the Air Force Air Marshal Harsha Abeywickrema and Mrs Neelika Abeywickrema congratulated LAC Thushani Perera immediately after the event and spoke to her parents congratulating them as well for their part in her success.

Secretary to the President Mr. Lalith Weeratunga and Mrs. Weeratunga, Secretary to the Ministry of Defence and Urban Development Mr. Gotabaya Rajapakse and Mrs. Ioma Rajapakse also attended the event  along with the Chief of Defence Staff Air Chief Marshal WDRMJ Goonetilleke, the Commander of the Navy Vice Admiral Jayanath Colombage, the Commander of the Air Force Air Marshal Harsha Abeywickrama, the Chief of Staff of the Army Major General Daya Rathnayake representing the Commander of the Army,  Director General of the Media Centre for National Security Mr. Lakshman Hulugalla, special guests which included officials of Ministries and senior officers of the tri Services.

  • Guwan Siththara
  • Guwan Hamuda Papedi Sawariya -2020
© 2020 - Sri Lanka Air Force Directorate of Information Technology. All rights reserved