Commander's Cup 2019 Golf Tournament Concludes Successfully at China Bay
8:37pm on Saturday 19th January 2019
The Sri Lanka Air Force and the Eagles’ Golf Links hosted the Commander’s Cup – 2019 Annual Golf Tournament, which was concluded today (19 January 2019) in the picturesque settings of China Bay, close to the harbour city of Trincomalee.

The tournament, played under the ‘Handicap Rules’ was open to all and started off at 0700 hrs with the participation of seventy six (76) enthusiastic golfers.

Mr. Janaka Thebuwana won the Commander's Cup 2019 securing the highest marks in the Gents Division of 32 points while Mrs. Manori Jayakody won the Ladies' Trophy with a total score of 31 points.  Mr. Ken De Alwis was placed as the runner up of Gents Division with 28 points. Commander PM Munmullage (SL Navy) and Mr. Rohan De Silva received the award for the longest drive and Mr. Kris Krishnarjah received the award for the closest to the pin in the gents category. Leading Aircraftman Priyadarshani AMI and Mrs. Niloo Jayathilake took the honours for the longest drive in the ladies category.

The Air Marshal Kapila Jayampathy Challenge Trophy presented to members of the Tri-Services (Men’s Category) was won by Leading Aircraftman Ranasinghe NGCA while Squadron Leader WMTGPS Wijekoon emerged as the Runner Up.

The awards were given away at a gala awards ceremony held at the ‘Marble Beach Air Force Resort' during today’s afternoon. The Commander of the Air Force, Air Marshal Kapila Jayampathy were present at the links and at the afternoon’s Awards Ceremony to watch the golfers in action and to give away the awards.

Commander Sri Lanka Army, Lieutenant General Mahesh Senanayake, Air Chief Marshal Jayalath Weerakkody, Chief of Staff of SLAF, Air Vice Marshal DLS Dias, Director Air Operations of the SLAF and Chairman of SLAF Golf, Air Vice Marshal Sudarshana Pathirana and the Commandant of SLAF Academy China Bay, Air Commodore HSS Thuyacontha also participated in the tournament.

© 2022 Sri Lanka Air Force Directorate of Information Technology . All rights reserved