4:26pm on Sunday 22nd January 2023
The Sri Lanka Air Force and the Eagles’ Golf Links hosted the Commander’s Cup - 2023 Annual Golf Tournament, which was concluded yesterday (21 January 2023) in the spectacular settings of China Bay, close to the harbor city of Trincomalee. The Commander of the Air Force, Air Marshal Sudarshana Pathirana graced this year’s tournament as the Chief Guest and he was accompanied by Mrs. Charmini Pathirana as well. This year’s tournament was powered by Dialog Enterprise as the main sponsor which made it much more glamorous and memorable for the participants. The SLAF was also joined by Trinco Blu by Cinnamon and JKAB Beach Resort this year as the hospitality partners.

The tournament, played under ‘Handicap rules’ was open to all and started off at 0700 hrs with the participation of more than hundred (100) enthusiastic golfers. The Commander participated for the first Tee Off signifying the start of the tournament.

Mr.Prabath Gamage won the Commander's Cup trophy securing the highest marks in the Gents category while Mrs. Manori Jayakodi won the Ladies' Trophy. Major General Srinath Rajapaksha secured the Runners Up position in the Gents Category while Mrs. Vivienne Fowler Watt secured the Ladies’ Runners Up position. Major General Srinath Rajapaksha and Mr. Nishantha Perera received the awards for the longest drive and for the closest to the pin in the Gents’ Category while Mrs. Anuk Chitty took the honours for the longest drive and for the closest to the pin respectively in the Ladies’ Category. Wing Commander Viraj Gamage adjudged for the award of the Nearest to the Green at 10th Hole which was prepared as a Special Contest for the 10th anniversary while Group Captain Sarath Wijesinghe (Rtd.) received the award for the Wooden Spoon.      
The Eagle’s Challenge Trophy presented to members of the Tri-Services (Men’s Category) was won by Group Captain JG Jayalath from the Sri Lanka Air Force. Air Vice Marshal Udula Wijesinghe emerged as the Runner Up for the Eagles’ Challenge Trophy. Group Captain Dhammika Samarakoon secured the award for the longest drive and Air Vice Marshal Udula Wijesinghe secured the award for the closest to the pin from Sri Lanka Air Force in the Eagle’s Challenge Trophy segment.

The awards of this year’s Commander’s Cup – 2023 were given away at a gala Awards Ceremony held at ‘Eagle’s Bay View’ Resort during the evening of the same day. The Commander of the Sri Lanka Air Force and Chairman of the Air Force Eagles' Golf Links and Courses, Air Marshal Sudarshana Pathirana graced the Awards Ceremony as the Chief Guest with his lady Mrs. Charmini Pathirana. Minister of Tourism and Lands of the Government of Sri Lanka, Hon. Harin Feranando, Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy, Vice Admiral Priyantha Perera and the Main Exclusive Sponsor, Group Chief Officer of Dialog Enterprise, Mr. Navin Pieris also participated as special guests for this year’s edition of the Commander’s Cup Awards Ceremony.
All participants of the tournament departed the scenic China Bay today (23 January 2023) with a load of fun filled memories from this year’s event which is a milestone as the 10th iteration of the Commander’s Cup Golf Tournament.



© 2024 Sri Lanka Air Force Directorate of Electronics and Computer Engineering. All rights reserved